Poetry

Stepping Back

Taking a break for a bit (for the most part)

Amy Jasek
2 min readDec 1, 2020

--

Medium format film pinhole image (photo by author)

Time to make ready
Watching and waiting, quiet
Light shines in darkness
Open up all the windows
Fling them wide, let love come in

Every year about this time, I see all my artist friends having sales and special offers on social media, on all kinds of holiday / non holiday products, and it makes me feel like I ought to be doing the same thing. I should be knocking out a ton of new cyanotype cards! I should have a print sale! I should try to push that book my daughter and I made!

I finished my gratitude poetry project, and was planning to format it into a little book, thinking oh December is the perfect time to make that happen, when everybody is shopping for unique gifts!

Well the reality of that situation would be me working hard on it, and then spending a great deal of time trying to convince people to buy it — this is not something I feel comfortable with even on my most confident days.

So instead, I’m going to do what I usually do: quietly place all those ambitions (ambitions that never fail to disappoint me, by the way) on the shelf until January. I’m going to turn the switch off on that kind of doing

--

--