Poetry | Prompts

May-Flowers

Amy Jasek
2 min readMay 6, 2021

Insta-inspiration, or not. . .

Hipstamatic photo of a paper calendar by author

I’ve determined that Instagram is my favorite platform. Maybe it’s because I am visually driven (even with poetry: the internal vision, the desire to make an image with words, etc etc), or maybe it’s the ease of sharing and interacting, but it’s definitely my favorite. Social media might not make me any extra dollars, but, to paraphrase a friend of mine’s book, “life’s not just about the Benjamins.”

(Not that I make Benjamins from writing. Jacksons, at best.)

There’s a writer on Instagram who has been doing a very cool thing for over a year now: he puts out prompts for people to respond to, shares a few on his own feed, and then curates them monthly into printed anthologies. I know this must take a Herculean amount of work, which makes me appreciate it even more. Personally, I love having a few *books* on my shelf that weren’t made by me but have my words in them. Instagram lover tho I may be, I am weary of everything being digital.

This is the guy’s Instagram (Ryan Daniel Warner), if y’all want to check it out: https://www.instagram.com/rdw.projects/

A fellow IG enthusiast writer friend of mine posted a lament the other day that Ryan’s 365 project had ended…

--

--